

# From the office of the Archbishop of Algoma Anne Germond

Announcement of the 2022 Certificates of Appreciation for lay members of the Diocese of Algoma

On the Feast of St. Luke the Evangelist October 18<sup>th</sup>, 2022

Dear people of God in Algoma,

Our church is richly blessed by hundreds of gifted lay people, co-workers and partners in the Gospel who serve our congregations faithfully year after year. Some are wardens, treasurers, lay readers, or serve in other positions of leadership, but many of them have never held a formal title or sat on a church board.

Yet through their devoted and loving ministry the mission of the church has carried on, and because of their constancy it continues to do the gathering work of Christ in communities right across Algoma. His love is made visible in and through the work of their hands and the light that radiates from their hearts.

Wanting to find an appropriate avenue to recognise these wonderful people I invited incumbents and their wardens to nominate three individuals in their congregation whose servant hearts and dedication to the Church have enriched the faith community in which they have served, therefore enriching our common life in Christ. Countless hours of time, talent and treasure have been generously and sacrificially given by these faithful people of God. I am grateful for each and every act of reconciliation or service, for each kindness offered, for every meal prepared, for every person visited, for every letter written, for every prayer said.

Apparently, the assignment was a difficult one for our incumbents who shared that they could have sent in a dozen or more names. Such is the richness of Algoma's laity.

Over the last four months the names of more than 80 members of our diocese have been received in the Synod office and these will be the recipients of the first annual Certificate of Appreciation. Signed by myself and the incumbent of the parish they are given in gratitude for the generous spirits, passion, joy, hard work and dedication of these faithful stewards of the church.

The wording on the Certificate reads:

"Because you have served the Lord in his church through the faithful exercise of your gifts, and because the Body of Christ has been enriched by your faithfulness, we award this certificate of appreciation to you."

I am pleased to announce the names of the 2022 Recipients of the Certificate of Appreciation in the Diocese of Algoma

Algoma Deanery
St. Saviour's, Blind River
Yvonne Plant
Marie Kirchmeir

Richard "Dick" Horton

#### Church of the Redeemer, Thessalon

Real Levesque
Grant King
Ernie Stopes (Posthumously)

#### **Emmaus, Sault Ste. Marie**

Max Grandinetti Edie Leblanc Alison Weir

#### Holy Trinity, Sault Ste. Marie

Donna Komhyr Ross Lay Geoff Meakin

#### Parish of St. Joseph and St. George

Jennifer Falkins Fred Court Arthena Hecker

St. Luke's Cathedral, Sault Ste. Marie

John Cockburn Jo Anstess Dene Clarke

#### St. Paul's, Wawa

Beverly Boyd Anne Owen

#### Muskoka Deanery Christ Church, Gregory

Lynn McBride Mary Ellen Kirk Jim Boyd

#### Christ Church, Windermere

Conrad Tucker Sonya Tucker

#### Church of the Good Shepherd, Emsdale

Lois Clark Judy Strood Margeruite Gilpin

**St. John's, Eagle Lake** John and Joyce Kellough

### St. George the Martyr, Magnetawan

Marjorie Hobson

#### **Grace Church, South River**

Gladys Gough Leona Loney

#### **Trinity Church, Parry Sound**

Canon Betty Whetham Karen Jewell

#### St. Thomas, Bracebridge

Peter May

#### Trinity-All Saints', Bala

Patricia Gidley

#### St. James, Gravenhurst

Elaine Smith Derek Shakespeare

#### All Saints', Huntsville

Philip Morehead Louis Tusz Ruth Fink

#### Sudbury-Manitoulin Deanery St. John the Divine, Copper Cliff

David Stamp Joanne Stamp Lesley Flowers

#### **Christ Church**, Lively

Winston Hardacre Yvonne Hardacre David White

#### St. Alban the Martyr, Capreol

Valerie Tryon Dale Hartley Gil Hartley

#### Church of the Epiphany, Sudbury

Philip and Mary Hopkins Gilles Tessier

#### Church of the Ascension, Sudbury

Dave Fowler Marie Vitone Philip Balson

#### All Saints', Gore Bay

Hugh McLaughlin Rene Proulx Nancy Panton

#### St. John the Evangelist, Kagawong

Dianne Fraser Charlene Chambers Mary Buie

#### St. Paul's, Manitowaning

Leslie Fields Jane Prosser Deb Robinson

#### St. Francis of Assisi, Mindemoya

Lynda Peever Audrey Jones Dorothy Anstice

#### Holy Trinity, Little Current

Ursula Paxton Robert Paxton Vicki Collins

#### Temiskaming Deanery Christ Church, North Bay

Bob Franklin (Posthumously) Vern Mortson Joy and Eric Magill

## Northern Lights Parish

Brian Park

#### St. Simon's, Temagami

Edna Erwin Wayne Johnson Betty Louks

#### St. Brice's, North Bay

Bill Burton Aase Jensen Eva Black

## Thunder Bay-North Shore Deanery St. Stephen the Martyr, Thunder Bay

Gail Olofson Jeffrey Pike Carolyn Skinner

#### Mission to Seafarers, Thunder Bay

David Stephens Irene Wyrozub Brad Yeo

#### **Gathering Table, Thunder Bay**

Carol Kostyniuk Margaret Boone Sharon Corston

#### St. George's, Thunder Bay

Janet Creighton Ingrid Koropeski Doug Hutchison

#### St. John's, Schreiber

Shirley Hamilton Louise Stefurak Sharon Roen

#### St. Paul's, Thunder Bay

Alison Arthur Ernie Tilbury Christopher Willie The Certificates of Appreciation have been mailed to Incumbents and will be presented to them in their parish one Sunday morning in the coming weeks during Holy Eucharist. I have prepared a Rite which may be used. The Rite is based on Luke 4: 18-19 where Jesus announces his purpose and mission to a people in need of the gospel – good news.

I have chosen these verses for my 2023 Motto:

"The Spirit of the Lord is upon me,
because he has anointed me
to bring good news to the poor.
He has sent me to proclaim release to the captives
and recovery of sight to the blind,
to set free those who are oppressed,
to proclaim the year of the Lord's favor."

On Sunday 6<sup>th</sup> November at 7pm I would like to invite all the recipients, incumbents and members of your parish family to attend an online Service of Evening Prayer so that I can offer my personal congratulations. This will also be an opportunity for Certificate recipients from around the diocese to meet one another. Liz Hamel will send out a Zoom invitation to incumbents.

There will be an annual awarding of these Certificates of Appreciation. Incumbents and Wardens are asked to prayerfully consider who the worthy recipients will be in 2023 and to submit their names to Liz Hamel by April 15<sup>th</sup> so the Certificates may be prepared for distribution. In parishes where there is no incumbent the Territorial Archdeacon or Interim Incumbent will work with the wardens to nominate three individuals.

Hearty congratulations to the 2022 recipients of the Certificate of Appreciation. May you know how much your faithful and devoted service has meant to the Church. May the abundant blessing of God the Father, God the Son and God the Holy Spirit be upon them and may they continue to be strong in faith, courageous in witness and persistent in good deeds all the days of their lives.

With gratitude and affection,

The Most Rev. Anne Germond Archbishop of Algoma